/**/ /* ! */

- The Finsiders – Miami Dolphins - http://www.thefinsiders.com -

2014 Mock Draft Roundup 3.0

Posted By The Finsiders On April 1, 2014 @ 10:36 am In Football | 18 Comments

CJ Mosley [1]The NFL Draft still may be over a month away, but that hasn’t stopped mock draft season from heating up. As we approach the 2014 draft on May 8-10, Dolphins.com will continue to round up all of the latest mocks from around the internet, and place them in one convenient place. Here’s our latest edition that now takes into account the moves that have been made during the Free Agency Period.

Without accounting for potential trades, here’s a collection of opinions from around sports media on who the Dolphins will draft in the first round of the 2014 NFL Draft:

Mel Kiper Jr., ESPN.com: [2] Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

Bucky Brooks, NFL.com: [3] Xavier Sua-Filo, OG, UCLA  (Disclaimer: This was a mock without any quarterbacks taken in the first round)

No one will blame new GM Dennis Hickey for expending a top pick on an offensive guard after witnessing the Dolphins’ offensive line woes a season ago. Su’a-Filo is a standout blocker with the toughness and physicality to take on the big-bodied defensive tackles that dominate the AFC East.

Chris Burke, Sports Illustrated: [4] Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

Is this too obvious a selection? Rarely do a team and a prospect so perfectly line up this far in advance of the draft. Albert was almost a must-have at left tackle. Martin would plug a gap either on the right side or at one of the guard spots — all places Miami needs help.

Charles Davis, NFL.com: [5] Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

Dolphins hold their breath that Baltimore doesn’t take the durable technician out of South Bend.

Daniel Jeremiah, NFL.com: [6] Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

Miami moved quickly to sign Branden Albert, but there is still plenty of work to be done to rebuild this offensive line.

Pat Kirwan, CBSSports.com: [7]Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

The Dolphins did sign Brandon Albert to play left tackle but Martin can play anywhere on the line. The Dolphins need versatile linemen to repair all the damage from last year.

Mike Hugeunin, NFL.com: [8] Zack Martin, OL, Notre Dame

He can play LT, RT or G, and would help Dolphins rebuild their line.

Pete Prisco, CBSSports.com: [9] C.J. Mosley, ILB, Alabama

They spent big on linebackers last year and didn’t get much bang for their buck. Mosley could help in a big way.

Rob Rang, NFLDraftScout.com: [10]Zack Martin OL, Notre Dame

With Branden Albert signed to take over at left tackle, the Dolphins can instead shift their draft-day focus towards boosting the play inside at guard. Zack Martin, unrelated to Jonathan Martin by genetics or style of play, is a coach’s dream. While perhaps lacking the body type scouts prefer at tackle (where he started 50 of his 52 career games for the Irish), Martin slides well laterally and controls opponents with fierce hand usage.

 

RELATED: 2014 NFL Draft Order Announced [11]

RELATED: Moreno Truly A Back Of All Trades [12]

RELATED: 2014 Mock Draft Roundup 2.0 [13]


Article printed from The Finsiders – Miami Dolphins: http://www.thefinsiders.com

URL to article: http://www.thefinsiders.com/blog/2014/2014-mock-draft-roundup-3-0

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.thefinsiders.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/120113-CFB-CJ-Mosley-PI-AV.jpg

[2] Mel Kiper Jr., ESPN.com:: http://insider.espn.go.com/nfl/draft2014/story/_/id/10601364/2014-nfl-draft-khalil-mack-goes-no-1-mel-kiper-mock-draft-30

[3] Bucky Brooks, NFL.com:: http://www.nfl.com/draft/2014/mock-drafts/bucky-brooks/195603

[4] Chris Burke, Sports Illustrated:: http://nfl.si.com/2014/03/25/2014-nfl-mock-draft-blake-bortles-2/2/

[5] Charles Davis, NFL.com:: http://www.nfl.com/draft/2014/mock-drafts/charles-davis/195601

[6] Daniel Jeremiah, NFL.com:: http://www.nfl.com/draft/2014/mock-drafts/daniel-jeremiah/195602

[7] Pat Kirwan, CBSSports.com: : http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/draft/mock-draft/expert/pat-kirwan

[8] Mike Hugeunin, NFL.com: : http://www.nfl.com/draft/2014/mock-drafts/mike-huguenin/200650

[9] Pete Prisco, CBSSports.com:: http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/draft/mock-draft/expert/pete-prisco

[10] Rob Rang, NFLDraftScout.com: : http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/draft/mock-draft/expert/rob-rang

[11] 2014 NFL Draft Order Announced: http://www.thefinsiders.com/blog/2014/2014-nfl-draft-order-announced

[12] Moreno Truly A Back Of All Trades: http://www.thefinsiders.com/?p=48038

[13] 2014 Mock Draft Roundup 2.0: http://www.thefinsiders.com/blog/2014/2014-mock-draft-roundup-2-0

Copyright © 2010 The Finsiders. All rights reserved.